





All India South west Zone Inter University KARATE WOMEN TOURNAMENT 2024-2025

6.01.2025 - 08.01.2025

All India South-West Zone Inter-University Karate Women Tournament was hosted by **B.S. Abdur Rahman Crescent Institute of Science & Technology** and inaugurated on **January 6, 2025, at 9:15 a.m.** The grand ceremony was held at the Crescent Convention Centre. The event began with the **hoisting of the National Flag** by **Dr. Baljit Singh Sekhon**, Joint Secretary (YA & Sports), Association of Indian Universities, New Delhi. This was followed by the hoisting of the University Flag by **Dr. T. Murugesan**, Vice Chancellor, and the Sports Flag by **Dr. N. Raja Hussain**, Registrar of the Institute.



The tournament witnessed participation from **around 450 players representing 88 universities** across the South-West Zone of India. The dignitaries and guests of honor graciously accepted the parade of the players during the ceremony.

The inauguration commenced with the recitation of the **Quirath**, by **Moulavi Dr. A. Abdul Hai Hasani Nadwi**, Dean Arabic & Islamic Studies followed by the **Tamil Thai Vazhthu. Dr. S. Selvakumar**, Organizing Secretary, Director & Head of the Department of Sports, welcomed the chief guest and the gathering. He also introduced the chief guest and provided an overview of the tournament's significance. **Dr. T. Murugesan**, Vice Chancellor, along with **Dr. Tajjuddin**, Pro Vice Chancellor, and **Dr. N. Raja Hussain**, Registrar, felicitated the chief guest, Dr. Baljit Singh Sekhon, with a shawl, garland, and bouquet.









In his inaugural address, **Dr. Baljit Singh Sekhon** emphasized the importance of sportsmanship and officially declared the tournament open. The Vice Chancellor, Pro Vice Chancellor, and Registrar extended their best wishes to all the participants, encouraging them to excel in their endeavours.



During the inauguration ceremony the students from **B.S. Abdur Rahman Crescent Institute of Science & Technology** has showcased silambam skills with their individual performances.



The inauguration ceremony concluded with Vote of Thanks delivered by **Dr. R.Karthikeyan**, Dean (Student Affairs) and the matches were started.



On Day 1, the preliminary rounds for Individual Kata, Team Kata, and Kumite (Under 45 kg and Under 50 kg categories) are conducted. Based on their performances in these rounds, the following students have advanced to the semi-finals.









SEMI FINAL - INDIVIDUAL KATA:

- 1. Amritha vijayan, Jain University Vs Mathini Sri H, SRM University
- 2. Chaitra Shree N, Visvesvaraya University Vs Farshana P.P, Univ.of Calicut

SEMI FINAL - TEAM KATA :

- 1. Univ.of Calicut Vs Mahatma Gandhi Univ
- 2. Jiwaji Univ Vs Univ.of Kerala

SEMI FINAL - KUMITE INDIVIDUAL (<45 KG)

- 1. Amrita, Jain University Vs Saini Pinky, Sarvajanik Univ
- 2. Prernasahu, Rabindranath Tagore Univ. Vs Traptipal, Barkatullah Univ

SEMI FINAL - KUMITE INDIVIDUAL (<50 KG)

- 1. Mathini Sri. H, (SRM Univeristy) Vs Farshana.P.P. (Univ. of Calicut)
- 2. Anshita Rawat (Barkatullah Univ) Vs Veena Dalvi (Somaiya Vidyaviher Univ)

On Day 2, the preliminary rounds for Individual Kata, Team Kata, and Kumite (Under 55 kg, Under 61 kg and Under 68 kg categories) were conducted.

SEMI FINAL - KUMITE (<55 KG)

- 1. Lekshmi VR (Univ.of Kerala) Vs Sanjana.MK (Univ.of Mysore)
- 2. Poongothai P (T.N.Dr. Ambedkar Law Univ) Vs Stazys charuvil (Univ.of Calicut)

SEMI FINAL - KUMITE (<61 KG)

1. Balarashiha M.V (Bharathiyar Univ) Vs Soni Dhriti Pradeep Kumar (Veer Narmad south Gujarat Univ)







2. Sini Devasia(Mahatma Gandhi Univ) Vs Ranjita (Jain Univ)

SEMI FINAL - KUMITE (<68 KG)

- 1. M.Varshaa (BSA Crescent Univ) Vs Devika Jayadev (APJ Abdul Kalam Univ)
- 2. Netra Pradhan (Gujarat Tech. Univ) Vs Gargi Sigh Parthar (Jagran Lakecity Univ)



On Day 3, the Semifinal and Final matches were conducted. Individual and Team Kata were performed by the participants and evaluated. The winners are listed below.

FINAL - INDIVIDUAL KATA:

- 1. First Place : Ms. Amritha Vijayan, Jain University
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Farshana P.P, University of Calicut
- 3. Third Place: Ms. Mathini Sri H, SRM University & Ms. Chaitra Shree N, Visvesvaraya University

FINAL - TEAM KATA :

- 1. First Place : University of Calicut
- 2. Second Place : University of Kerala
- 3. Third Place: Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam.& Jiwaji University, Gwalior.

FINAL - KUMITE INDIVIDUAL (<45 KG)

- 1. First Place : Ms. Amritha Vijayan, Jain University
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Tratipal, Barkatullah University
- **3.** Third Place: Ms. Prernasahu, Rabindranath Tagore University & Ms. N. Saini Pinky, Sarvajanik University







FINAL - KUMITE INDIVIDUAL (<50 KG)

- 1. First Place : Ms. Farshana.P.P., University. of Calicut
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Veena Dalvi, Somaiya Vidyaviher University
- 3. Third Place: Ms. Anshita Rawat, Barkatullah University & Ms. Mathini Sri. H, SRM University

FINAL - KUMITE (<55 KG)

- 1. First Place : Ms. Lekshmi VR, University of Kerala
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Stazy S. Charuvil, University of Calicut
- 3. Third Place: Ms. Poongothai P, T.N.Dr. Ambedkar Law University & Ms. Sanjana.MK, University of Mysore

FINAL - KUMITE (<61 KG)

- 1. First Place : Ms. Ranjita Sinha, Jain University
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Soni Dhriti P, Veer Narmad south Gujarat University
- **3.** Third Place: Ms. Sini Devasia, Mahatma Gandhi University & Ms. Bala Rashika M.V, Bharathiyar Univ

FINAL - KUMITE (<68 KG)

- 1. First Place : Ms. Gargi Sigh Parihar, Jagran Lakecity University
- 2. Second Place : Ms. Devika Jayadev, APJ Abdul Kalam University
- 3. Third Place: Ms. M.Varshaa, B S Abdur Rahman Crescent Institute of Science & Technology & Ms. Netra Pradhan, Gujarat Tech. University

FINAL - KUMITE (>68 KG)

- 1. First Place: Ms. Brindha. B, B S Abdur Rahman Crescent Institute of Science & Technology
- 2. Second Place : Ms. N. Vedhavarshini, Bharathiyar University
- 3. Third Place: Ms. T.Nivetha, University of Madras & Ms. Nidhi Tripathi, Jagran Lakecity University

FINAL – TEAM KUMITE :

- 1. First Place : University of Calicut.
- 2. Second Place : Veer Narmad south Gujarat University.
- 3. Third Place: University of Mysore & Rabindranath Tagore University.

All the competitions were held at the convention center under the supervision of AIU observer, **Dr. N. V. Thiyagachanthan**, Director of Physical Education, VIT, Vellore. The events concluded at 4:30 p.m., followed by the Valedictory Ceremony. **Dr. S. Selvakumar**, Director and Head of the Department of Sports, welcomed the dignitaries to the ceremony and expressed his gratitude to the organizing committee members, technical committee members, referees, coaches, team managers, and all participants.



Based on the results, the University of Calicut, Kerala, was awarded the overall championship trophy, while the runner-up trophy was presented to Jain University, Karnataka. University of Kerala and B.S. Abdur Rahman Crescent Institute of Science & Technology, Tamilnadu have secured third and fourth places respectively.