

(Estd. u/s 3 of the UGC Act, 1958) Formerly B.S.ABDUR RAHMAN Crescent ENGG College

Minutes of the

INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL

(IQAC) Meeting

held on

25.05.2016, 11.30 a.m.

at

Seminar Hall – III, Convention Centre, BSAU



INTERNAL QUALITY ASSURANCE CELL (IQAC)

Minutes of the Meeting

Date and Time	:	25.05.2016 10.00 am to 11.30 am.	
Venue	:	Hall No III, Convention Centre, BSAU	
Agenda	:	: Implementation of Slotted Time Table	

The following members were present:

S.No.	Name	Designation	
1.	Dr. V.M. Periasamy	Vice Chancellor	
2.	Dr. V. Sankaranarayanan	Director (University Projects)	
3.	Dr. I. Mohammed Bilal	Controller of Examination	
4.	Dr. T.R. Rangaswamy	Dean (Academic Affairs)	
5.	Dr. R. Raja Prabu	Dean (Academic Research)	
6.	Dr. P.K. Jawahar	Dean (Student Affairs)	
7.	Dr. N. Nithiyananadam	Professor of Eminence	
8.	Dr. P. Kanagasabapathy	Professor of Eminence	
9.	Dr. S. Kaja Mohideen	Dean (School of Electrical & Communication Sciences) & Dean (PG Studies)	
10.	Dr. M.S. Haji Sheik Mohamed	Dean (School of Infrastructure)	
11.	Dr. M. Murugan	Dean (School of Mechanical Sciences)	
12.	Dr. S. Kutti Rani	Dean (School of Physical and Chemical Sciences)	
13.	Dr. P.M. Usha Rani	Dean (School of Social Sciences and Humanities)	
14.	Dr. S. Hemalatha	Dean (School of Life Sciences)	
15.	Dr. R. Vasantha Kumari	Director (Polymer Nanotechnology Centre)	
16.	Dr. P. Sheik Abdul Khader	Director (Data Centre)	
17.	Dr. R. Rajaraman	Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering	
18.	Dr. M. Subramanian	Head, Department of Automobile Engineering	



S.No.	Name	Designation
19.	Dr. K.N. Srinivas	Head, Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
20.	Dr. C. Tharini	Head, Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering
21.	Dr. Sharmila Sankar	Head, Department of Computer Science Engineering
22.	Dr. U. Sabura Banu	Head, Department of Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
23.	Dr. S. Syed Mohamed Abdul Majeed	Head, Department of Polymer Engineering
24.	Dr. A. Jaya	Head, Department of Computer Applications
25.	Dr. S. K. G. Ganesh	Head, Department of Management Studies
26.	Dr. P. Vasanthakumar	Head, Department of Aerospace Engineering
27.	Dr. P.S. Sehik Uduman	Head, Department of Mathematics & Actuarial Science
28.	Dr. I. Raja Mohamed	Head, Department of Physics
29.	Dr. D. Easwaramoorthy	Head, Department of Chemistry

Decisions taken

- A presentation on the proposal put forth by the committee formed to formulate the slotted timetable framework for regular, evening, Saturday & Sunday and summer term programs of the university is presented. The presentation also covered issues regarding the three or four period time slots for lab courses, University timings and conduct of CAT & Semester End examinations.
- 2. The members noted that providing three or four period slots for one or two lab courses is possible in the framework but it will restrict the modularity of the scheduling framework.
- 3. The meeting decided to have 50 minutes periods, eight periods a day and 60 minutes lunch. There shall be no tea breaks as the students can use the free slots available to them for refreshing themselves. The faculty members handling the third and seventh period of the days will accommodate the justifiable delays of students, when they transit form labs to classrooms or from classrooms to labs.



4. The University timing will be as below.

Commencement of Morning Class Period 1 to 4 Lunch Period 5 to 8 Departure of Busses 09.00 am 09.00 am to12.20 pm 12.20 pm to 01.20 pm 01.20 pm to 04.40 pm 04.50 pm

- 5. It was decided to conduct CAT examinations centrally by providing eight or ten days for each cycle of CAT. The planning for this will be done by CoE.
- 6. The semester end examination will be conducted as it is being conducted now, according to the program curriculum for various semesters.
- 7. The time table coordinator, Dr. Mohamed Ismail, Professor, Department of ECE, will organise a meeting of all department timetable coordinators to make them understand modular scheduling. Dr. M. Murugan shall explain the methodology of modular scheduling to all department coordinators and implement the same form the August 2016 semester onwards.
- 8. Some concerns regarding the general low occupancy level of students, ragging and the limited availability avenues for accommodating them were raised. It was decided that ensuring the productive utilisation of free time of students will be a key element for the success of the system.
- 9. Prof. V. Sankaranarayanan, Director, University Project, explained the salient features of the curricular framework for the new flexible M.Tech program. He asked HoDs to design curriculum with courses that have 1, 2, 3 & 4 credits so that more modularity and flexibility is built in to the curriculum.

Registrar

B.S. Abdur Rahman University

Meeting of HoDs and Deans to discuss Slotted Time Table

Date and Time	: 25.05.2016 10.00 am to 11.30 am.
Venue	: Hall No III, Convention Centre, BSAU
Agenda	: Implementation of Slotted Time Table

2

	S.NO	Participant	Signature
1	1.	Vice Chancellor	VoorBeirasamp
1	2.	Registrar	
	3.	Director, Admissions	
	4.	Director, University Projects	(Burnell and Bland Je
	5.	Director, International Collaboration	22 3 13
	6.	Controller of Examination	Am 218
	7.	Dean, Academic Affairs	alleurs
	8.	Dean, Academic Research	Jun 250516
	9.	Dean, Student Affairs	
	. 10.	Dean (School of Electrical & Communication Sciences)	My y
	11.	Dean (School of Infrastructure)	1. Horri Majolio
	12.	Dean (School of Mechanical Sciences)	M. M.
	13.	Dean (School of Physical and Chemical Sciences)	Remerni 25 lor lav
	14.	Dean (School of Social Sciences and Humanities)	PMushe Ram
	15.	Dean (School of Life Sciences)	Ch 2015/16.
	16.	Dean, School of Architecture	FOZ [RK.DHINYA]
			de l'anne 1001

S.NO Participant Signature 17. Dean, School of Islamic Studies Head, Department of Computer Science 18. EI Con Engineering Head, Department of Information Technology 19. SISIL Head, Department of Computer Applications 20. Head, Department of Mathematics & Actuarial 21 25/5/16 Science Head, Department of Electrical and Electronics 22. Engineering Nonazo Department of Electronics & Communication 23. Engineering HoD 25/5/16 Head, Department of Electronics & 24. Instrumentation Engineering 0 -16 Head, Department of Civil Engineering 25. Head, Department of Aerospace Engineering 26. Head, Department of Automobile Engineering 27. 5116 Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering 28. 75/2016 29. Head, Department of Polymer Engineering 5-16 30. Head, Department of Physics 25 Head, Department of Chemistry 31. p. low aroundly 32. Head, Department of English S. Grace Vintha 25/5/16 Head, Department of Management Studies 33. .. Dr. M. Abdullah Khan, Professor of Eminence 34. Dr. N. Nithiyanandam, Professor Of Eminence 35. Malfana Dr. P. Kanagasabapathy, Professor Of 36. Eminence Hasan Baby H, AP(SG), E.C.E. 37. GI Kannen AD (SG) ECE 38. M. Syed Masood/cA 39. M 40. Mr. Sarmisla Har Bayon HELEBE Hr. Dr. M. Mahamed Jerrail PIECE/ how